Credit usage and models
Models and Model Routers let you control the trade-off between performance (quality, capabilities, speed) and credit consumption. The model or router you select applies a specific credit multiplier to the base credit usage of a task. For example, a task that consumes 10 credits on a1x model would consume approximately 5 credits on a 0.5x model and 25 credits on a 2.5x model. See Models for the full list of models and routers and their credit multipliers.
You can switch between models and routers in further conversations within the
same chat to optimize credit usage for different stages of development.
Get more credits
Users on free plan can get more credits by upgrading to the Pro plan. You can opt for a monthly credit bundle as part of the Pro plan. Once the current bundle is exhausted, you can renew the plan with the same or a different bundle.Buy one-time credits
Pro users can purchase one-time credit packs that are added to their account immediately. You can also buy multiple packs at once.- IDE Extension
- Dashboard
- Launch Kombai extension in your IDE and sign-in.
- Click at the top.
- In the Buy one-time credits section, select the number of credit packs you want to purchase.
- Click Buy credits.
- Complete the payment in Stripe’s portal.
Purchased one-time credits are subject to the same rollover limits as your
plan credits (up to 5x your monthly credit limit for Pro users). They remain
in your account until consumed, the rollover limit is reached, or the plan is
cancelled.
Check credit usage
The Credit Logs page shows your remaining balance and the credit usage history for all your Kombai chats. You can also check the credits consumed in an individual chat at the end of that conversation.On the Credit Logs page
In the desktop app
In the desktop app
- Click your account details at the bottom of the left sidebar to open the account menu.
- Click Credit logs.
In the IDE extension
In the IDE extension
- Click the icon on top.
- Click Credit logs.
Within a chat
Click the More actions icon at the end of a conversation. The last row of the menu, Credits used in thread shows the total credits that chat has consumed so far. This works the same way in the desktop app and the IDE extension.Check allocated credits
The Allocation tab gives you a complete history of your credit activity. Each entry displays the Date, Type (e.g., Daily, Rollover, Purchased, or Expired), and Credits added (+) or deducted (-).In the desktop app
In the desktop app
- Click your account details at the bottom of the left sidebar to open the account menu.
- Click Credit logs.
- Click the Allocation tab.
In the IDE extension
In the IDE extension
- Click the icon on top.
- Click Credit logs.
- Click the Allocation tab.
Credit rollovers
Users on free plan
- For users on free plan, unused credits roll over at the start of each month.
Users on paid plans
- For users on monthly plan, unused credits roll over at the end of each billing cycle.
- For users on annual plan, unused credits roll over every month on the same date they purchased the plan.
- For users upgrading from free plan to a paid plan, unused credits will roll over to the new plan.
- For users upgrading from a paid plan to a higher paid plan, unused credits will roll over to the new plan.
Users who cancel their plan
- For users who cancel their plan, up to 150 unused credits will roll over to the free plan.
Rollover limits
- Free plan: Unused credits can roll over up to 150 credits (0.5x the monthly limit).
- Monthly plans: Unused credits can roll over up to 5x the monthly credit limit.
- Annual plans: Unused credits can roll over up to 12x the monthly credit limit (equivalent to the annual limit).
- Team plan: All unused credits will roll over the team’s billing cycle renewal date without any limit.
FAQs
How many credits do I get for free
How many credits do I get for free
All new users receive 150 credits upon signing up. Free plan users also receive 50 credits per day, up to a maximum of 300 credits each month.
When does my monthly credit limit refresh
When does my monthly credit limit refresh
Your monthly credit limit refreshes on the same date and time your
subscription started.
What does the 'Credits used in thread' after each message mean
What does the 'Credits used in thread' after each message mean
The “Credits used in thread” displayed under at the end of each message represents the total cumulative credit usage for the entire chat. It includes credits consumed by all messages within that conversation.