Skip to main content
In Kombai, to cancel your subscription, you have to downgrade to the free plan. You can also switch to a smaller plan instead of cancelling. Downgrading a paid plan takes effect at the end of your current billing period, not immediately. To cancel a Team plan, see Team’s Cancel Plan doc.

Cancel your subscription

  1. Click your account details at the bottom of the left sidebar to open the account menu.
  2. Click Your plan.
  3. Scroll down to the Billing & Invoices section.
  4. Click Downgrade plan.
  5. Click Downgrade to Free. Alternatively, you can choose a smaller plan instead of cancelling. See Switch to a smaller plan instead.
  6. Review the list of changes, then click Confirm downgrade.
  7. Select a reason for leaving, then click Downgrade plan.
The Your Plan page then shows a Your Plan Ends Soon banner with the date your plan ends. If you’re on an annual plan, or already on the smallest plan, Downgrade plan opens Stripe’s portal instead. Confirm the cancellation there.
Your current plan will remain active until the end of the billing period.

Switch to a smaller plan instead

When you start a cancellation from the desktop app or the dashboard, Kombai also lets you switch to a smaller plan instead of downgrading to the free plan. This schedules a plan change instead of a cancellation:
  • The change takes effect at the end of your current billing period.
  • You keep your current plan and credits until then.
  • The Your Plan page shows a Your Plan Changes Soon banner naming the new plan and the date it starts.
To call off a scheduled plan change, click Keep current plan in that banner. Your current plan continues on its original billing schedule. You can scheduled a plan change only on monthly plans.

Undo cancellation

If you’re a paid user and have mistakenly cancelled your subscription, you can undo the cancellation before the billing period ends.
  1. Click your account details at the bottom of the left sidebar to open the account menu.
  2. Click Your plan.
  3. Scroll down to the Billing & Invoices section and click Don’t Cancel Plan. Or, click Your Plan Ends Soon banner at the top of the page.
  4. Confirm in Stripe’s portal.

FAQs

  1. You keep your plan and all your existing credits until the end of the current billing period.
  2. When the billing period ends, your account moves to the free plan. From that point:
    • Your purchased one-time credits expire.
    • Your paid monthly credits reduce to 0.
    • Your credit rollover limit reduces from 5x your monthly credits to 150 credits. See Credit rollovers.
    • You can no longer buy one-time credit packs.
  3. When you reactivate your subscription after moving to the free plan, your account starts with the credits from your new purchase. Credits from your previous subscription that have already expired aren’t restored.