Upgrade your free plan to a paid plan
- Desktop app
- IDE Extension
- Dashboard
- Click your account details at the bottom of the left sidebar to open the account menu.
- Click Your plan.
- Select Monthly or Yearly above the plan cards. Yearly billing saves 20%.
- In the Upgrade to Pro card, select a bundle from the Credit Bundle dropdown.
- Click Upgrade.
- If Kombai opens the Confirm your purchase modal, check the amount and click Confirm and pay. Otherwise, complete the payment in Stripe Checkout. See How payment works.
Upgrade your paid plan to a higher paid plan
- Desktop app
- IDE Extension
- Dashboard
- Click your account details at the bottom of the left sidebar to open the account menu.
- Click Your plan.
- Select Monthly or Yearly above the plan cards.
- In the Get more from Pro card, select a larger bundle from the Credit Bundle dropdown.
- Click Upgrade.
- If Kombai opens the Confirm your purchase modal, check the amount and click Confirm and pay. Otherwise, complete the payment in Stripe Checkout. See How payment works.
Unused and unexpired credits in your account always roll over when you
upgrade. You never lose existing credits by upgrading. Learn more about
Credit rollovers.
Upgrading monthly plans to higher monthly plans
- When you switch from a monthly plan to a higher monthly plan, you’re charged immediately for the price of your new plan.
- Any unused credits from your monthly plan roll over into your new monthly plan.
- Your new monthly plan starts on the upgrade date, and your renewal date resets to that same day each month.
Upgrading monthly plans to annual plans
- When you switch from a monthly plan to an annual plan, you’re charged immediately for the annual price of your new plan.
- Any unused credits from your monthly plan roll over into your new annual plan.
- Your annual plan starts on the upgrade date, and your renewal date resets to that same day each year.
Upgrading annual plans to higher annual plans
- When you upgrade your plan, you are only charged prorated amounts based on how much time is left in your current billing cycle.
-
For example, if you’re on a
$192yearly plan and switch to a$576yearly plan halfway through the year, the unused$96from your old plan is applied as an adjustment. You’ll then be charged$288for the remaining half of the cycle on the$576plan, minus the$96adjustment. This means you’ll pay an additional$192overall for that year. -
Your renewal date does not change. From the next billing cycle onward, you’ll be charged the full
$576each year for your upgraded plan. - You also receive enough additional credits to bring you up to the new plan’s full monthly allocation for the month in which you upgrade, plus you get that full allocation again on each monthly anniversary for the rest of your billing cycle.
Renew your same plan
When your credits in the current plan are over, you can also renew the same plan instead of upgrading to a higher plan. This will reset your billing cycle to the start of the newly renewed plan.You can only renew the same plan if you are on a monthly plan. Annual plans do
not support renewals.
- Desktop app
- IDE Extension
- Dashboard
- Click your account details at the bottom of the left sidebar to open the account menu.
- Click Your plan.
- In the Get more from Pro card, select the bundle you are already on from the Credit Bundle dropdown.
- Click Renew.
- If Kombai opens the Confirm your purchase modal, check the amount and click Confirm and pay. Otherwise, complete the payment in Stripe Checkout. See How payment works.
Downgrade your plan
You can downgrade to a lower credit bundle from the desktop app, the Kombai extension in your IDE, or the Kombai dashboard. If you’re on an annual plan, you can’t downgrade. An annual plan allows only upgrades to a higher annual bundle: every lower annual bundle and every monthly bundle is disabled in the Credit Bundle dropdown. To leave an annual plan, see Cancellation.- Desktop app
- IDE Extension
- Dashboard
- Click your account details at the bottom of the left sidebar to open the account menu.
- Click Your plan.
- In the Get more from Pro card, select a lower bundle from the Credit Bundle dropdown.
- Click Downgrade.
- If Kombai opens the Confirm your purchase modal, check the amount and click Confirm and pay. Otherwise, complete the payment in Stripe Checkout. See How payment works.
View past invoices
- Desktop app
- Dashboard
The Billing & Invoices section appears once you’ve made a payment to Kombai. Team plans manage billing from the dashboard.
- Click your account details at the bottom of the left sidebar to open the account menu.
- Click Your plan.
- Scroll down to the Billing & Invoices section.
- Click View Past Invoices.
- Stripe’s portal opens in your browser, where you can view your past invoices.
Change your payment method
- Desktop app
- Dashboard
The Billing & Invoices section appears once you’ve made a payment to Kombai. Team plans manage billing from the dashboard.
- Click your account details at the bottom of the left sidebar to open the account menu.
- Click Your plan.
- Scroll down to the Billing & Invoices section.
- Click Change Payment Method.
- Stripe’s portal opens in your browser, where you can change your payment method.
How payment works
Kombai processes purchases in one of two ways:- Inside the app: If you have a saved card, the Confirm your purchase modal appears directly in Kombai, showing your plan, saved card, and final charge (including any first-month discounts). Click Confirm and pay to complete your purchase.
- In your browser: Kombai opens Stripe Checkout in your browser when you don’t have a saved card. It’s also required for two specific cases: team plan changes and individual plan changes while you are on an annual plan. You can also trigger Stripe Checkout manually from the Confirm your purchase modal by opening the card dropdown and clicking Pay with a different method.
Credit pack purchases are always handled in-app because they have fixed
pricing. Even if you are on a team or annual plan, you can buy credit packs
directly using a saved card.